Okaloosa County Public Library Cooperative

The library cooperative is a major component of Okaloosa County’s strong education system of schools, colleges and libraries.

Six member libraries (with a staff of over 60 trained specialists) in Crestview, Destin, Fort Walton Beach, Mary Esther, Niceville and Valparaiso.

Essential Community Services

Mobile career center, job fairs, career counseling, income tax preparation, voter and social services registration, Career Online High School, homework assistance and tutoring.

Collaborative Spaces

Meeting rooms, study spaces, classes and cultural events for all ages, community conversations.

Access to Technology and Research

Computers, free wireless access, digital media creation labs, technology instruction, research assistance, group classes, STEM exploration activities, online courses, online tutors, and downloadable eBooks, eAudiobooks and magazines.

Contact Us - Staff Directory

Statement of Freedom to Read

Library Customer

Get a Library Card

One Card = Six Libraries

Your card will be honored at all six of our libraries in Crestview, Destin, Fort Walton Beach, Mary Esther, Niceville and Valparaiso.
Each library in the Cooperative issues its own cards. You may apply for a card at any library regardless of where you live in the county. Materials from all libraries can be delivered to the library you select for pickup.

Account Help - I have an account, but I can't log in
To log into your library account on ReadOkaloosa.org you will need your library account number (the number below the barcode on your library card, 14 digits, no spaces) and your PIN.

Reset PIN Click here to reset your PIN

Contact us
Need more login help? Forgot your account number? Expired account?
Email Us or call 850-609-5101.
If you include your full name and address, we will be able to access your information quickly. Office Hours: Mon-Fri 8-5

New Library Accounts - I don't have an account

Who qualifies for free membership? A person who lives in Okaloosa County, or who owns property and pays property taxes to Okaloosa County. Post office boxes or mailbox rental street addresses are not accepted as proof of living in the county.

I live in Okaloosa County, or own property and pay property tax to Okaloosa County.

Full Access Library Card: borrowing privileges in libraries plus all online services.
Apply in-person at a member library with accepted forms of identity and address verification.

Online Services Only Account: register online
Access all the online resources on ReadOkaloosa.org. This account does not provide borrowing privileges at libraries. Library staff will verify online registrations, and delete ineligible or duplicate accounts. Register Online

I don’t live in Okaloosa County

(Must apply in-person at a library)

Courtesy memberships are extended without fee to the following non-residents (with accepted documentation):

  • Active-duty military families living in Escambia, Santa Rosa and Walton counties (valid DoD ID card)
  • Students attending school in Okaloosa County (enrollment verification)
  • Education faculty at a school in Okaloosa County (employment verification)
  • Employees of Cooperative-member governments (employment verification)
  • Owner of a business operating in Okaloosa County (business license)

Paid memberships are available if you do not qualify for a courtesy account.

Membership Dues for Paid Memberships

Tier 1 - FREE membership (12 months):

Okaloosa residents, students, educators, active-duty military families, property owners, employees of Cooperative-member governments.

Must apply in-person to borrow materials from libraries. Online registration available for online-only access (addresses will be checked against the county GIS address look-up as a residential location).

Tier 2 - $40 per family (12 months):

Non-resident but living in PLAN service area*

Tier 3 - $30 per library account (6 months):

Non-residents, living outside of the PLAN service area*

Tier 4 - $60 per library account (12 months):

Non-residents, living outside of the PLAN service area*

*The PLAN service area includes the following counties: Santa Rosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson). Must apply and pay in-person.

Register to Vote

Governing Board

Okaloosa County

Nathan Boyles

Cynthia Brown
Ryan Bullard (alternate)

John Stephens
Johnny King (alternate)

Fort Walton Beach
Gloria DeBerry
John Mead (alternate)

Mary Esther
Bernie Oder
Susan Coxwell (alternate)

Doug Stauffer
Bill Schaetzle (alternate)

Kay Hamilton
Edward Crosby (alternate)